How to Pray the Franciscan Crown Rosary



The Franciscan Crown Rosary is a
seven decade Rosary in honor
of the Seven Joys of Mary.





How to pray the Franciscan Crown Rosary:

Begin with the sign of the cross (there is no creed or opening prayers)

1. At the first decade, announce the first mystery; then say one Our Father on the fifth bead
from the Cross.

2. Say one Hail Mary on each of the ten beads.

3. Announce the second mystery & repeat steps 1 through the 7th decade.

4. Say Two Hail Mary’s to complete 72 years of Mary’s life on earth on the fourth and third
beads from the Cross.

5. Say Our Father on the 2nd bead from the Cross & say Hail Mary on the bead closest to the
Cross for the intentions of the Holy Father.



First joy of Mary: The Annunciation “behold the handmaid of the Lord, be it done to me
according to your word.” Luke 1:26-33

R: May I become your humble servant, Lord.

Second joy of’ Mary: The Visitation “Rising up, Mary went into the hill country and saluted her
cousin Elizabeth.” Luke 1:39-47

R: Grant us true love of neighbor, Lord. virgin-mary-tattoo-1534485705

Third joy of Mary: The Nativity “She brought fourth her first born son…and laid him in a
manger.” Luke 2:4-7

R: Give us true poverty of spirit, Lord.

Fourth joy of Mary: Adoration of the Magi “Following the star the Magi found Jesus, adored
him and presented gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh.” Matt 2:9-11

R: Help me obey all just laws.

Fifth joy of Mary: Finding Jesus in the Temple “Not finding him, they returned to Jerusalem
seeking him.” Luke 2:41-51

R: May I never lose you through serious sin, Lord.

Sixth joy of Mary: The Resurrection “The Lord is not here…He is risen.” Luke 24:1-6

R: May we share your glory, Lord.

Seventh joy of Mary: The Crowning of Our Lady “a woman clothed with the Sun… upon her
head a crown of twelve stars.” Rev 12:1 -6

R: Mary, may we share your crown of eternal life.


According to Franciscan tradition the Seven Joys of Our Lady are recited throughout the year.
However, in recent years, some substitute the Seven Sorrows of Mary during penitential seasons.



First Sorrow: The prophecy of Simion.

“When Mary and Joseph present the infant Jesus in the temple, Simeon predicts that a “sword”(of
sorrow) will pierce her soul. Luke 2: 25-35.

Second Sorrow: The flight into Egypt

“When King Herod orders the death of all male children age two or younger, Mary and Joseph
flee to Egypt with the infant Jesus.” Matt 2:13-15.

our-lady-of-sorrowsThird Sorrow: The Child Jesus Lost in the Temple

“Mary and Joseph search for the child Jesus for three days, finding him at last in the temple.”
Luke 2: 41-50.

Fourth Sorrow: Mary meets Jesus carrying the cross

 “Mary shares Jesus’ suffering as He carries the cross through the streets of Jerusalem.” Luke 23: 27-29.

Fifth Sorrow: Mary at the foot of the cross.

“Mary witnesses the crucifixion and death of Jesus.” John 19: 25-30.

Sixth Sorrow: Mary receives the body of Jesus.

“Jesus is taken down from the cross and his body is placed in Mary’s arms.” Psalm 130.

Seventh Sorrow: Mary witnesses the burial of Jesus.

“The body of Jesus is laid in the tomb and Mary awaits the Resurrection.” Luke 23: 50-56.